12
Jul
16

Book Review: Resolved: 10 Ways to Stand Strong and Live What You Believe

Resolved

I highly recommend this book. If you are in a dark season in your walk with God, this book will encourage and rebuild you. If you are in a season of great spiritual health, read this as a tool to recommend to others who might need encouragement, as well as to remind you as to why things are going so well for you right now.

I wanted to read this book because I got the impression from the subtitle and summary that it was going to encourage me in the face of spiritual persecution. That is not the focus of this book. The first chapter, Believe When it Looks Ridiculous, does address that aspect of being resolved in your faith. But the main focus of the book is to stand resolved when the challenge comes from within, when the temptation to forego your faith is because the sin within you or circumstances surrounding you lead you to doubt God’s promises, His power, and His presence. Despite being quite different in content and direction than I initially thought, I was very pleased and encouraged as I read this book. While Ms Abujamra writes in a very conversational style that is easy to read, Resolved is full of meaty truths and powerful Scripture references that build the believer up.

Resolved addresses 10 life situations that can make faith weak. They are: Believe When it Looks Ridiculous, Love when It’s Inconvenient, Obey When It’s not Popular, Yield When It’s my Right, Speak Up When It’s Easier Not To, Give When I Barely Have Enough, Be in Community When I’d Rather Be Alone, Have Joy When Life is Depressing, Hope When it Hurts Too Much, and Rest in the Midst of Chaos. Each chapter has many personal examples from Ms. Abujamra’s life, practical suggestions and approaches to aid the reader in putting the topic into practice in their life, and each ends with a formal resolution that the reader can make going forward.

I appreciated this book as I was in a dark season when I read it, and the final chapter on Rest in the Midst of Chaos was a great balm to my spirit. It is very encouraging to know we are not the only ones going through hard times, and Ms. Abujamra is very open and honest in her writing.

I received a copy of this book from Baker Books for the purpose of reviewing, but I was under no obligation to give a positive review. All opinions are my own.

0 Responses to “Book Review: Resolved: 10 Ways to Stand Strong and Live What You Believe”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

