12
Jun
16

book review: liberating king: breaking free from the tyranny of sin

Cover ArtThis book was enjoyable and encouraging, written in a very conversational style that is easy and quick to read. Stephen Miller is a worship leader at his church, and understandably uses song lyrics to illustrate and support his points. He has many examples of people who have suffered and struggled yet held fast to the Lord who liberates.

I am personally in a valley season spiritually right now, so I was greatly excited to read this book. It was very encouraging to read about the hard times that a worship leader has had, seeing that I am not alone in my struggles. Miller is quite relatable and transparent, and I admire and respect him for that. I will be honest though, that the book didn’t leave a deep impression on me, in that I have not been left meditating on the truths he reminds of or the methods he proposes to aid the reader in breaking free.

Overall, it is worth reading and I hope to revisit it at some point. I’m thankful that there are spiritually mature people who are courageous enough to share their struggles without glossing over the fact that walking with Christ does not equal a trouble-free life.

I received a free copy of this book from Baker Books that I might review it. All opinions are my own.

0 Responses to “book review: liberating king: breaking free from the tyranny of sin”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

