08
Oct
15

Book Review: Tranquility: Cultivating a Quiet Soul in a Busy World by David W. Henderson

I give this book 5 stars across the board: for teachability, readability, Scriptural accuracy, and hopefulness.  David Henderson writes out of his honest successes and failures to make the most of the time and opportunities God has given him.

He begins each chapter with numerous quotes about time, its use and its passage. I lingered on those as I read, allowing them to really sink in. He also interweaves his writing with Scripture, especially Ecclesiastes, focusing on how God has represented time through His human authors, and the wisdom they have gained around it.

My copy of Tranquility is filled with passages underlined and starred, passages that gave me a new perspective or really taught me. The author really probes deeply, helping the reader to see not just the negative results of over-busyness, but the heart reasons we seek busyness in the first place. And they’re not all bad reasons.  He also shows that this is not just a 21st century problem, but rather one that humans have struggled with for centuries.  I for one find it very hopeful when I see that I am not alone in my struggles, and that God Himself knows and has answers for them.

I will close with one of my favorite paragraphs that I think summarizes Henderson’s overall aim:

“There really are only two ways to view our time. We can follow the culture into a driven life, in which we view our time as our own, to meet our own needs. Or we can follow Christ into a called life, in which we yield up our time, giving it back to its rightful owner, and then allow him to lead us into the life he has already designed for us.” (p. 118)

I hope you will be as blessed by this book as I have been. I received a free copy from Baker Books Publishers in exchange for my honest review.

0 Responses to “Book Review: Tranquility: Cultivating a Quiet Soul in a Busy World by David W. Henderson”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

