04
Sep
08

My Baby is One

Annabeth's Birthday Cake It’s hard to believe that it’s been almost a month since the last post I put out here, but that’s not nearly as hard to take as knowing that on August 17th, my baby isn’t a baby anymore.  Our little Annabeth is suddenly one year old.  She is walking.  She’s saying “Mama” and “Dah-eeeeh”.

As far as I know, this is the last 1st birthday we’ll be celebrating in the Thompson household.  That’s kind of a strange truth to consider too — we’ve been doing the baby thing in one way or another for the last six years and change.  It’s odd to think that I probably won’t see KIm sitting on the sofa nursing a baby again.  That the nights of holding tiny infants that cannot hold their heads up are gone.

It’s hard to honestly say I will miss a lot of that.  Parenting a baby is the hardest thing I have ever done.  Kim has a handful of movies that deal with pregnancy and babies, but have to say that what I see in movies is more like grandparenthood: you see the baby, and she’s so cute, and she just sleeps and coos and smiles.   You look at her for a few hours, and then you give her back and the parents go home … the credits roll.  In the movies, you never have to change diapers that are full of tar.  You never have to put on a gas mask when you open the diaper pail.  It’s clean.  It’s cute.  It’s not real life.

So now, my little Annabeth is 1.  Actually, she’s been one for the better part of a month.  I guess that’s part of the cliche, “they grow up so fast.”  And it has been a quick year.  Since August 17, 2007 when she was born at CMS-University.   Her first smile in September.  First tooth in November – and seven more by February!  First baby cereal in March.  Her funny learning to scoot on her bottom instead of crawling in May.  Her first step in July.

Lots of people ask us if we’re done.  We’re at a church where plenty of families have four kids, but at this point I really think we’re done, unless adoption comes up again in a few years.   But if we stay where we are, I can’t count myself anything but blessed far beyond what I deserve.  I have a terrific wife and three beautiful daughters and I am delighted to be able to call them my family.

Happy Birthday, sweetheart,

Daddy

0 Responses to “My Baby is One”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

